Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

2015-06-16T16:10:40+02:00

When they came

Posted by Ophilya Doe

Today in 2015

Dear diary

My name is Kuli, I don't know how I am alive, I don't know how I didn't die, I don't know how I escaped death but I am glad that I am writing to you. It was a tragic afternoon the afternoon they came. We have been hearing about them and how nothing survived when they passed through your village, but here I am.

The first thing we heard were gun shots, followed by screaming and shouting, it felt like the end had come because we were sure of these men's hatred for life. Those killers, those angels of death, those men in their masks. We looked for hiding places in our dormitories but it was hopeless because the hostels were designed to restrict exit once you were within the dorms.

We held ourselves in tight frightened embraces. Two of my friends were with me when the door flung open from a strong kick, five wicked looking men strolled in with guns, bloodied daggers and machetes.

We were frightened, we sobbed, we whimpered, we cried and started screaming when the first girl was slaughtered before our eyes. One after the other each girl was looked at before she was cut down mercilessly as if the men were disappointed at what they saw.

My friends were next, they failed the test. It was now my turn.

Dear diary! I am afraid, I am so scared, there is a reason why I wasn't killed that day but I don't want it to be true that that was why my life was spared because if you were ever caught or surrounded by the men in the mask, there was no escaping the slaughter or a defiling rape. Sometimes I think, would it have been better if I were raped or killed, well... that is something I may never know because I survived when they came.

When they came

See comments

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
comments
D
Awn she stood to conquer, I guess twas faith that saved her
Reply

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon - Hosted by Overblog